Teammates L.L. Corum and Joe Boyer both started the race driving cars built by Fred Duesenberg. Boyer was driving the No. 9 car, but mechanical trouble doomed his chances in that car.

Corum was driving the No. 15 and when he came into the pits Duesenberg decided to switch drivers, putting the better driver in his best car. Boyer muscled his way from the middle of the pack to take the lead and the win. The two drivers were named co-winners.

Jimmy Murphy had been the fastest qualifier at more than 108 mph, but came in third behind Boyer and Earl Cooper.